top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTC

CTC Announces 2019 Award Recipients

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM, NOVEMBER 11TH 2019 — Cinema Technology Community (CTC), the not-for-profit independent trade organisation has announced the recipients of its prestigious 2019 awards at its annual awards ceremony in London.

With over 150 industry professionals and hosted by film-critic, author and broadcaster Mark Kermode, CTC’s own ‘Last Projectionist Standing’ Dave Norris, veteran broadcaster Simon Mayo, British film composer David Arnold and compered by Patrick von Sychowski and Helen Budge, the awards night recognised individuals and organisations that continue to drive excellence in movie-going through the use of technology and outstanding service to the industry.

The 2019 Award Recipients

  • Technology of the Year – CJ CGV Screen X

  • Cinema of the Year – Odeon Cinemas Luxe Leicester Square

  • Team of the Year – BBFC

  • Rising Star – Grainne Peat, Event Cinema Association

  • Technology Pioneer – Harkness Screens

  • Outstanding Achievement – Michael Swinson, Ellis Williams Architects

  • Lifetime Achievement – Rolv Gjestland, Film & Kino

  • Presidents Award – Denis Kelly

“Our 2019 recipients blend those that have over many decades helped shape the movie-going experience we see today with those who are shaping the movie-going experience of tomorrow. Their relentless drive, enthusiasm and passion to push boundaries in design, technology and accessibility deserves the highest accolades and on behalf of the Board of Directors, Governors, Advisory Council and our members, we congratulate our award recipients," says Richard Mitchell, President of CTC.

For further information on CTC including membership opportunities, visit or email

198 views0 comments


bottom of page